Stitching Up City Square 2013 – Installation Day

There was a while there when I worried I would never finish my City Square piece on time. Three seasons of Downton Abbey later, I measured up again and found that my piece had grown to 3.94 m. Whew! That was close enough for me.

Bali from Yarn Corner suggested sewing the piece into sections since the height of the tree was only an estimation. I made a 3.18 m section and two 38 cm sections:

This is me lying on top of my city square piece to give you an idea of scale, and also because it was so lovely and soft.

This is me lying on top of my City Square piece to give you an idea of scale, and also because it’s so lovely and soft.

My sister came with me to City Square last Sunday to help with the installation and to take photos:

Installation Day - About to begin  Installation Day - An avenue of trees in rainbow colours

In the end I didn’t need to use the two 38 cm sections; the 3.18 m section reached right up to the branches of the tree. One of the City Square pieces did not arrive in time for the installation. We used left over sections from the other trees to assemble a yarn bomb for the naked tree. There’s one of my sections at the bottom:

Installation Day - Rainbow tree

While we were installing the pieces, many people stopped to ask questions and to take photos and to say thank you. It was lovely to be involved in a project that brings happiness to so many people. At the end of the day when I left the square, I noticed some tourists posing for photos in front of my tree! It made me very happy.

6 thoughts on “Stitching Up City Square 2013 – Installation Day

  1. How beautiful! What a wonderful project to have taken part in – and is that you?! Stunning Helen with your gorgeous work! And I especially like that you all patched in so as not to leave the other tree out! I’m so excited about this!

    • Yes, that’s me 🙂 I’m glad you like it. I’m really pleased with it, and when you see all the trees together the Square looks really amazing. Yup, it was nice to pitch in to finish the last tree and I think everyone was pleased that their extra sections weren’t wasted.

  2. Wow! That looks brilliant! I’m well impressed. My only disappointment is that your sister wasn’t one of the tourists posing in front of your tree…..
    What’s next?

  3. Pingback: Art Inspired by Nature: an Interview with Oscar Lloveras | Slow It Down

  4. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My website addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!|

Leave a Reply

