Housemates, Hobbies and Sky Hi Heels

Only a few weeks after writing out my universe wish list, everything seems to have fallen into place.

My new housemates are kind people who are into yoga and sustainable living. We eat organic, vegetarian food and very little dairy; only a bit of cheese every now and again. I spoke to my mum on Skype last week and she asked if I was eating well enough. I had to laugh because I have never eaten so well in my life. Meals here consist of rice and quinoa and vegetables from the garden.

I spent a bit of time in the garden with one of my housemates, planting beans and cucumbers. Who would have guessed that I would one day do gardening for fun? Another housemate showed me how to knit and has lent me her needles and wool so I can practice for a bit and work my way up to yarn bombing something. The third housemate hooked me up with some work in a shop. I’m grateful to all of them for their help.

The shop sells Goth style clothing: chunky, buckle clad boots, floor length black coats and PVC corsets. It only opened last week so we still get respectable looking, middle-aged business women coming in to browse, then gradually looking more and more perplexed until they realise that the store they thought they were in has gone.

There’s a whole heap of new vocabulary that goes with the shoes we sell: punknews zip up sky hi six eye neon peacock creeper… Luckily the customers know what they’re looking for, even if I don’t. Not yet, anyway. I’m still working on my opening line to greet people who come into the store. The standard “How’re you going?” over here sounds fine in an easy going Aussie accent but unnatural in my tightly done up Scottish one.

I’ve got another job too, teaching English as a foreign language. My accent is causing me some grief there too. The other day I gave a pronunciation lesson. The students played a game where they had to identify words that rhymed. “No, no, no,” I insisted. “’War’ does not rhyme with ‘sport’.” Well, they looked up the words in their phonetic dictionaries, and wouldn’t you know it? They do rhyme. But try as I might, I cannot say ‘war’ and ‘sport’ and make them sound the same.

You know you’re in a good place when the worst of your problems is a little bit of trouble with rhyming. Every so often I roll my eyes skywards and smile and say a silent thank you to the universe.

8 thoughts on “Housemates, Hobbies and Sky Hi Heels

  1. Pingback: Housemates, Hobbies and Sky Hi Heels | Helen Caldwell | www.kotisearch.com

    • Lots of mistakes in my knitting so far. I blame the needles. They’re too short. Once I buy longer ones I’m sure my knitting will come out perfectly 😉

    • Yes, I remembered all those things when I dared to suggest I had never eaten so well in my life. I suppose what I should have said is that I’ve never eaten so healthily in my life. Is that better? The Chemical X was great, but you can’t deny that those crunchy sugary bits were a dentist’s nightmare. Same goes for the camembert ice-cream, by the way.

Leave a Reply

