Blogging the Book Fest

My last few days working at Edinburgh International Book Festival were spent looking through press clippings, blogs and the yurt comment book to read the nice things that people have written about Book Fest events.

I’ve been a bit lax about blogging recently, thinking What’s the point? Who cares what I have to say about this? Spending all that time reading posts about the Book Festival reminded me why blogs are great. The people blogging about author events were enthusiastic and passionate. They gave me an idea of what it was like to be there at that event and they shared their particular expertise on the author’s work. The articles in the press focused on what was considered newsworthy: what Jo Nesbo had to say about the Norway massacre, what Gordon Brown thought of his treatment by the media.

Of course there’s a place for the type of articles you find in the press, but in this case it was blogs that provided me with the material I needed. And if there’s one person out there searching for a quote on what it’s like to be in an audience with Audrey Niffenegger, or any of the authors I’ve seen over these last few weeks, then I hope they find what they’re looking for here.

My heartfelt thanks to all the bloggers who have written about the 2011 Book Festival, particularly Ali George, Colin Galbraith, Anna Burkey, David Farrer and Ceilidh. Sorry to those I’ve forgotten to mention.

Over the next week I’ll finish typing up the rest of my notes from Book Festival events so that I can post them here. In the meantime, something to brighten up your day: the poem Carol Ann Duffy wrote in the author’s yurt comment book. It gave me such a thrill to read it.

6 thoughts on “Blogging the Book Fest

    • Oh no, sorry Juliet. Your Book Festival posts slipped through my net. I’ve just been over to read them now. It looks like we didn’t have any events in common, which is not surprising since I believe there were close to 800! As always, it’s great to read about events that I didn’t manage to see.

      Head over to Juliet’s blog to read about some EIBF events with a poetry/environmental bent.

Leave a Reply

