I Write Like…

Agatha Christie, apparently. I pasted 1000 words of prose into the I Write Like analyzer and that was the result. My blog posts are more in the style of Chuck Palahniuk* and my interviews are like something H. P. Lovecraft would write. Thanks to R. A. Martens for bringing this entertaining procrastination tool to my attention.

*Fab Wikipedia fact: Chuck Palahniuk’s literary agent is Edward Hibbert, the actor who plays Gil Chesterton on Frasier.

Who do you write like? Do you have a favourite Wikipedia fact?

17 thoughts on “I Write Like…

  1. I was told by a creative writing tutor that I wrote like Angela Carter (though i doubt that very much now!) and I imagine I’m Mariella Frostrup when I’m interviewing! Aside from that, I’ll have to take the test!

    I have too many fave wiki facts! Had a few stories come out of a wiki fact though!

    • I personally think I get a lot of my style of writing from reading the books of the Shaara family, but the analyzer might say different.

    • Did you try the analyzer? I think there are probably only a handful of authors it’s programmed to spit out so don’t be disappointed if you don’t get what you were hoping for!

    • I bet you get a different one every time! Don’t know if Angela Carter is in the selection but I’m sure your creative writing tutor knew what she was talking about.

  2. I’m posting you my
    weekend haiku here because
    I know I’ll forget!

    Auckland in the sun:
    fantails lift their skirts and dance.
    Last flirt of summer.

    Morning: tui laugh,
    cicadas shake maracas.
    Time to make music.

    I thing I could learn a haiku trick or two from you!

    • Rachel, these are brilliant! I love the ‘cicadas shake maracas’ 🙂

      Gosh, I wonder if I can turn my favourite wiki facts into a story too…I’ll have to think about that.

  3. Obviously that should have read “I thinK I could learn a haiku trick or two from you!” Typo-maniac that I am.

    I’d love to know if you come up with a wiki fact based story!

  4. I tried it out with a passage featuring a murder late at night among a set of ruins.

    Apparently it thinks I write like Margaret Atwood.

  5. I gave it another try with a blog that I did months ago, the lost journals of Amelia Earhart. The analyzer thinks I write like Shakespeare.

    • Ha! Wouldn’t it be funny if you fed some George Orwell into the analyzer and it came out as Agatha Christie? Might be one to try…just to test how accurate this analyzer really is.

  6. In a fit of enthusiasm/depression I’ve just bought series 1-4 of ITV’s Marple. If I’d known you wrote like Agatha Christie I’d just have sent you the cheque instead, and got you to write something for me. (Wee smiley face here)

Leave a Reply

