The Writer’s Bookshelf

I apologise for the long absence from this blog. First it was Christmas, then it was New Year and with all the great TV that is shown around those two holidays, I didn’t get a chance to come online.  I didn’t spend the whole of the festive season in front of the box, though. I also managed to get some important reading done. I’ve just finished Stephen King’s On Writing, which has been recommended to me by so many people that I have come to the conclusion that it is THE book for aspiring authors. It’s full of practical advice and a you-can-do-it attitude that made me want to throw the book aside and get on with my own writing projects right away. King’s memoirs, which make up the first section of the book, are funny and inspiring. This is a MUST for the writer’s bookshelf.

Another staple of the writer’s bookshelf, so I’ve been told, is  Strunk and White’s The Elements of Style. I’ve just managed to get my mitts on a copy and after only five pages, I am itching to go through all my short stories to rearrange the commas.

Leave a Reply

