A Completely Different Sort of Writing

Today I have been doing a completely different sort of writing: I have been writing a covering letter for a job application. I find it really difficult to get the tone of covering letters right. You need to emphasise all your good qualities without sounding boastful BUT if you are too modest, some  smartypants who has detailed all their achievements right down to the gold star they got in primary three for spelling might get the job instead of you.

So what goes in the letter? It is a writing job but I don’t have much published work. I wonder if my letter in Shoe People magazine counts…?

Leave a Reply

