My Mantra

It’s better to write something than nothing. It’s better to write something than nothing.

So today I wrote something. It’s a bit of a mishmash of 1st person / 3rd person / past tense / present tense / me writing notes to myself, but at least it’s something. And it won’t stay as a mishmash forever. There will be a second draft and a third draft and maybe, one day, today’s measly offerings will be transformed from ‘something’ into ‘something good’. Until then, I just keep telling myself it’s better to write something than nothing.

3 thoughts on “My Mantra

  1. Hi,
    Nice blog … been roaming around a bit at random, clicking on interesting links. This small little post, caught my eye. Writing something is better than writing nothing? Hmmm, but what if that something is utter rubbish? It makes me feel terrible … and want to go back to sleep. Does it serve any purpose to write that kind of trash, just so you’ve produced some output? It’s a question I’ve been struggling with 🙂

  2. Yeah, I really believe it’s better to write utter rubbish than nothing. Later, when you look back at what you’ve written, you might find that it wasn’t so bad after all. Even if it is as bad as you originally thought, you can always redraft it and make it better.
    I think also it’s good to get into the habit of writing even when you don’t feel like you can produce anything good. Soon you will find that you have those feelings of negativity less often.
    I have to admit though that I don’t always take my own advice. I have had a few “nothing” days this month but every time I have regretted it and wished that I had written just a few hundred words to keep the flow going.

  3. Pingback: Handy Hints for the Freelance Writer #2 | Helen Caldwell

Leave a Reply

