Pep Talk

How exciting! This morning I had an e-mail in my inbox from Philip Pullman! Not addressed to me personally, though. It was a motivational e-mail sent to everyone taking part in NaNoWriMo to encourage us with our writing. As I mentioned in yesterday’s post on point of view, to write well you  need to read. In his e-mail Philip Pullman wrote much the same thing: “Every novelist I know—every novelist I’ve ever heard of—is, or was, a passionate reader.” He also wrote that when people ask him where he gets his ideas from he replies “I don’t know where they come from, but I know where they come to: they come to my desk, and if I’m not there, they go away again.” This is the gist of the Picasso quote I have stuck above my desk.

Despite receiving this affirming e-mail this morning, I was rather slow to get started with the writing today. The sun is shining again in Andalucia again so I spent a large part of the day on the terrace plugged into my iPod. It wasn’t until 6pm when the sun was beginning to set that I got back to my laptop and tried to get another 2 000 words hammered out.  There was a moment there when I thought I wasn’t going to make it but the feeling of disappointment that overwhelmed me was so unbearable that I forced myself to carry on.  I am so pleased I did because I reached the 20 000 word mark in my novel and can now go to bed knowing that I have achieved something wonderful. Perseverance is the key.

3 thoughts on “Pep Talk

  1. I, for one, after the excitement had subsided, started wondering about inanities, like page 70 single- or double-spaced… That’s why I’m still at 10K.

  2. Pingback: Blogoversary 2 « My Writing Life

Leave a Reply

