Art in Surprising Places

I heard a rumour that there was going to be a Shake Your Tail Feather flash mob at Southbank so I headed down there with my friend, Lucy, to check it out. (Youtube video by Miff D)

Afterwards we walked through Southgate Shopping Complex and came across artworks by Be Free. It was one of her colourful little-girl-with-bucket-of-paint paste ups in Degraves Street that started me off photographing street art just over a year ago.

Be Free Artwork in Southgate Shopping Complex

The first piece of Be Free street art I spotted in Melbourne. This can still be seen in Degraves Street but isn't in such good condition any more.

The first piece of Be Free street art I spotted in Melbourne. This can still be seen in Degraves Street but isn’t in such good condition any more.

Finally, Lucy and I went for a coffee in Manchester Press. Unfortunately, the amazing coffee foam art I’d been going on and on about was not evident in Lucy’s hot chocolate.

The picture in the milk foam of my coffee.

The picture in the milk foam of my coffee.

Lucy's hot chocolate looks dull by comparison

Lucy’s hot chocolate looks dull by comparison

5 thoughts on “Art in Surprising Places

  1. Love the art works, especially the last pic/first piece you photographed. But that coffee…there’s no comparison, is there?

    Have a fantastic Christmas, Helen. All good wishes for a super New Year! xx

  2. Pingback: New in Melbourne – Be Free in Degraves St | Helen Caldwell

Leave a Reply

